Incorporated in 1998, The New York City Police Museum is dedicated to preserving the history of the New York City Police Department, the world’s largest and most famous police service. The Museum strives to be an accessible resource for all the communities of the city of New York. Through its exhibitions, collections and educational programming, the Museum illustrates how the policies and culture of the NYPD have evolved over time to meet the changing needs of the City. The Museum serves as an educational institution, living memorial, and bridge of understanding between the various communities of New York, the international community and the New York City Police Department.


Chairman of the Board
David M. Gildea, Cowen and Company

Vice Chair
Terence E. Smolev, Esq.

Vice Chair of Finance
Robert Fagenson, Fagenson & Co. Inc.

Vice Chair for Operations
David Blumenfeld, Blumenfeld Development Group, Ltd.

Dennis R. Klein, Nussbaum, Yates, Berg, Klein & Wolpow, LLP

Vice Chair for External Affairs
Howard Safir, VRI Technologies

Tom Zapf, Macy’s

President Emeritus
Carol Safir


Marc J. Bern, Napoli Bern Ripka Shkolnik LLP

Cynthia Brown, American Police Beat

Gerry Byrne, Fidelis Global Enterprises, LLC

Sandra Capek, BNY Mellon, Wealth Management

John Catsimatidis, Red Apple Group

Robert F. Dall

G. Joseph Dippell, G.J. Dippell & Co., Inc.

John A. Flynn, Patrolman’s Benevolent Association

Tom Fontana, The Levinson/Fontana Company

Dr. Eugene Holuka, MD

Patrick Kelleher

Lois Kennedy

Lew Leone, WNYW/WWOR

Anne-Imelda Radice, Ph.D.

Lorraine Shanley, Survivors of the Shield

Kent M. Swig, Swig Equities

Brian S. Waterman, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank

Rudy Washington

Founder’s Circle:

Steve Fisher, Plaza Construction Corporation

William Fugazy, Fugazy International

Richard Grasso

Kenneth G. Langone, Invemed Associates LLC

Patrick J. Lynch, Patrolman’s Benevolent Association

Mark Nathanson, Forensic Investigative Associates

John Wren, Omnicom Group, Inc.

Ex-Officio Members:

Commissioner James P. O’Neill
New York City Police Department

Tom Finkelpearl, Commissioner
Department of Cultural Affairs

Joseph P. Dunne